July 6, 2009

Ketchup, not mustard.

Posted in Beginnings, Ketchup at 1:17 am by nedbun

Going back to six weeks ago…

Cheeseburger

My refreshed face after a long and gruesome semester. 🙂

I arrive at the quaint Burbank airport after a long day of travel and what felt like 5 minutes worth of packing on the fly. I felt jittery and a little overwhelmed to be back in Los Angeles although I had been here to visit for New Years 4 months ago. I wasn’t sure whether I was excited or nervous. Probably both.

Getting picked up at the airport is awesome especially when you’re really tired. It was unexpectedly easy to adjust to seeing Tony again, although I will admit that his initial reaction to seeing me after 4 months was less than optimal. However, my unbearable hunger aided in deterring any semblance of an argument for the time being.

In-n-Out Burger is delicious.

I was sort of bummed out that the weather wasn’t better when I arrived as I was highly anticipating a much needed trip to the beach, but soon the rest of my plans would start to unravel as well. My trip to Vegas with Stephanie, which was supposed to commence two days after my arrival in Los Angeles, was halted by car trouble and a gut feeling that something was going to go wrong that day. I was bummed out because I wanted to celebrate my 21st birthday with Stephanie in the appropriate place, but alas it will have to wait until later. I think it was kind of a blessing in disguise because not being in Vegas made it easier for me to deal with the newly destroyed plans I had made for a car.

Not having a car in LA is like not having a Metro card and not being able to afford a cab in New York City; daunting and highly irritating. I will admit that I felt a little trapped not to mention that the geniuses that were supposed to move out the Sunday prior to me moving in had conveniently lost their living arrangement thus preventing me from moving in on time and in a comfortable manner. Needless to say I was very upset and my back was paying the price.

Eventually, things took a turn for the better when I finally moved in, but I still didn’t have a car. I ended up driving around with my Dad’s old friend’s brother’s good friend… eventually I got a car, but as much as I tried to avoid it I ended up renting a car for the first few days of work because the paperwork was taking too long. I did, however, get a great deal on a 2001 Toyota Corolla with 48,000 miles on it. I know it sounds like a scam, but it’s true and it was worth the agony because now my brother, Glenn, will end up with a car, which makes this a much better investment. Maybe it wasn’t worth the agony, but it’s a great car. The engine and interior are immaculately clean (are you surprised I bought it?), it gets great gas mileage (huge plus in LA and really anywhere these days), and it drives like a charm. I think the Davids would be proud of what I ended up with.

The agonizing seed

Glenn's Seed.

The DMV in California is EXPONENTIALLY better than the DMV in New Jersey. Seriously, it’s unbelievable. I would say try it for yourself, but nobody actually ever goes to the DMV voluntarily.

Once my car was in order, things calmed down a lot. Work was a lot less stressful, although I unfortunately got scammed pretty badly by the rental car company. I should have said something, but I didn’t.

Tomorrow I’ll get into my first days at work, my concerns for the “metal” genre, my room mates, Michael Jackson, French-dipped sandwiches, Malibu, and the 4th of July. I know, you’re thrilled.  🙂

Leave a Reply

