July 9, 2009

and then… mustard.

Posted in Ketchup at 9:38 pm by nedbun

Fourth of July weekend was pretty awesome. I was so exhausted the whole week that I was anxiously anticipating my Friday off for the holiday. The long weekend did me well. The weather finally got warm enough for me to make it to the beach, although I wasn’t wearing a swim suit this time, just hanging out.

On Friday my day off Tony and I decided to go to the beach… but we were hungry. We decided to eat breakfast at Cole’s, a historical French restaurant in downtown Los Angeles. Unfortunately for the beach, the French-dipped sandwiches we had there left us comatose well into the afternoon. We had tried Philippe’s French-dipped sandwiches a few weeks back, but we decided that we liked Cole’s better. Both, however, had equally poignant, nasal clearing, delicious dijon mustard made in-house. I’ll have to buy some before I leave so I can eat it when I have the flu. I swear it will work better than Vick’s.

Instead of the beach… Tony and I were both equally devastated about Michael Jackson’s sudden death the week prior. We had stopped by his family compound in Encino, which is about 10 minutes from my house, several times and to his star on the walk of fame in Hollywood. I will never forget hearing that news… My heart sank so low, I couldn’t even believe it. A call to his production manager from one of the salesmen at work was what it took for me to actually believe it. I was flooded with phone calls, texts, e-mails and co-workers at my desk. I didn’t know that everyone knew what Michael meant to me, what the cancellation of the shows and the end of such a powerful legacy really meant to me. It was mind-boggling. I suppose it’s true that I really did love him that much. I kept it together at work, but as soon as I got into the car the tears started to rain and I couldn’t stop the whole hour home.

I’ve thought about getting the souvenir ticket instead of a refund, but I have yet to really decide that. I’ve gotten really annoyed with all the rash comments about the situation regarding the allegations in the 90’s. It’s ridiculous the measures that people will go to in order to feel like they’ve put someone down. It’s saddening, frankly, that people find that necessary and continue to do it on a daily basis.

MJStar2

Michael’s star on the walk of fame was jam packed with people, flowers, letters, photos, and other memorabilia. It really got me choked up.MJStarJoe O’Neil had a ticket to the memorial service, but I decided that I couldn’t afford to miss a day of work for a crazy day like that… Much to my dismay, I hadn’t kept up with the lineup for the event and was very regretful of my decision once I found out that Stevie Wonder and Mariah Carey would be there to pay tribute. After it all, I wish I would have gone, but I don’t think I’ll regret getting paid for that day when my paycheck arrives…

Regardless, the t-shirts from the tour are only $30 so I will definitely be buying one of those, if not 2 or 3.

Rest in Peace, Michael, we will always love you and miss you.

Santa Monica Sunset

For the 4th of July, we decided to watch the fireworks at the beach in Santa Monica, which was awesome because we got to see several shows from the beach from varying distances.

FireworksI won’t lie and say that we were close because we really weren’t, but it was breathtaking to see fireworks over the ocean. I would do it again in a heartbeat. At one point, several of the shows went into their grand finales and the sky was filled with colors. The reflections on the water were one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen. I love the beach. I love it I love it I love it.

PCHOn Sunday, we made a trip up to Malibu, which is easily the most gorgeous place I’ve ever been to.  It’s cool temperatures, varied landscape, great seafood and beautiful beaches got me. Of course, I made sure to stop by Pepperdine University, one of Stephanie’s potential candidates for law school once she graduates from Penn State next spring. It’s a gorgeous campus with a giant library that overlooks the ocean. I mean what more could you want from a library. It’s bad enough you’ll be studying all the time, why not study by the beach? I say, hell yes.PepperdineThe university’s sign just past the huge library that I couldn’t get a picture of, but that’s what google is for, people.

Steph's Dorm

This is Stephanie’s future dormitory; a great big mansion overlooking the ocean with absolutely NO distractions. Oprah and Cher have lived in this home (according to Tony). This is a big step up from McElwain Hall at Penn State.

Getty Villa

Finally, this is where Stephanie will spend her weekends; the Getty Villa. It’s an addition to the main Getty Museum in Los Angeles in a beautiful villa on the Pacific Coast Highway, which follows the Pacific coastline. I haven’t been here yet, but I will. I’m sure I will want to move in just as I did with the other museum.

Malibu GasYes, even the gas stations in Malibu are gorgeous. This is, of course, why celebrities live here including but not limited to Janet Jackson, Diana Ross, Mel Gibson, and Britney Spears. The Malibu high school also has dolphins on its facade. How cool is that?

I would say it was a good weekend, wouldn’t you? Maybe you’d say it was great. 😛

Leave a Reply

