July 9, 2009

The rest of the ketchup.

Posted in Beginnings, Ketchup at 8:34 pm by nedbun

Home

Actually, I have more animal room mates than human ones. They were all pretty awesome until I found out 2 of the 3 cats had fleas… and then it became 3 cats with fleas.

Kitty

Kitty is a pretty awesome cat. She talks to you when you call her name and she is very verbal about how she’s feeling pretty much all the time. It can get annoying sometimes when she’s had a bad day and it’s 3 am because she does not hesitate to tell you about it regardless. She’s gotten very skinny since Flake and Miko have been preying on her food like vultures, although I will say that she puts up a really good fight or at least it seems like it based on the giant balls of ripped out hair left over after the wrestling matches…

Flake

Flake is too cool for school. He’s got ‘tude and he doesn’t give a rat’s ass if you like it or not. He’s sweet when he wants to be, but his main mission is to BUST OUT. He will stop at nothing to get outside. Continually he has forced his way between my window shutters and popped off my screen to freedom. I’m not sure why he is so obsessed with going outside, but this guy is on a mission and I’m clearly in the way. He was very welcoming to me when I first arrived, although we haven’t been such great friends since he’s been exiled from my room due to fleas.

Miko

Miko is the best. He’s a big fluffy cat with an equally ebullient personality. We fell in love the second we saw each other and we’ve been buds ever since. Miko will assume his “pet me” position anytime anyplace and at the drop of a dime. This does, however, put him in danger at night because he likes to sprawl out right outside my door. I have on more than one occasion stepped on him in the hallway in the middle of the night. Luckily, he has enough hair that I think the damage was negligible.

Alaska

Alaska is awesome. He’s a german shepherd, husky mix, which makes him HUGE. He’s lovable and very vibrant. He often passes out on my floor with his eyes open. He likes to lick the lotion off my legs, which in turn give me hives, but I love him all the same.

On the human side of things, I have 3 room mates; Joy, Myla, and Brant. Joy is the “owner” of the house. She’s 24, a financial analyst for Ernst & Young, and awesome. We get along great. Myla is an aspiring actress from Colorado who teaches yoga on the side. I’m not really sure what that means, but that’s what I know. Brant is a guy. I don’t know anything about him other than the fact that he’s from Michigan and cuts his bangs occasionally over the sink in our bathroom, which is… annoying. They’re pretty cool overall. My room is a lot bigger than last summer so I have a nice big bed, which I appreciate a lot. The house is cozy and in a quiet neighborhood. There’s always parking, flowers, and a nice little back yard to chase Alaska in.

I have found that if you look hard enough anywhere you can find a good deal for a great place. People always go on and on about how expensive everything is, but I think they just don’t look hard enough or they don’t realize the difference between a scam and a great deal. Why don’t people get it?

From conversations with Joy, her parents and her are looking to sell the house so it doesn’t look like I’ll be able to live here if I decide to move out here next summer. We’ll see. 🙂

A few weeks ago, I suddenly had a craving for flan… and I wasn’t in the mood to go find some so I made it myself. It came out pretty well except that I didn’t let it cool for long enough so it didn’t hold its shape as well as it should have. The next one I made (the following day) I left in the refrigerator overnight so it came out awesome. 🙂

Flan

It was truly delicious.

P.S. I sent this photo to my uncle. He was ecstatic to discover that I hadn’t become a whale since I saw him 2 years ago. Not even a cow, a whale.

Leave a Reply

